RSS

After The Sunset

10 Oct

I guard my baby brother’s bed

I watch it every night 

I keep away the nightmares

And make everything alright

I listen for each whimper

And I strain to hear him cry

Every time he seems upset

I sing him his lullaby 

He doesn’t like it when it storms

I hug him when it does

And when he wakes up in the morning

He will know he’s safe and loved

I’ll never leave my brother’s side 

I couldn’t stand the strain

I’m living with the memory

Of the time he slipped away

He was lying in my arms

The day the summons came

I wished him a safe journey 

To the place we’d meet again

We buried him that weekend

I refused to go back home

He might be somewhere better. 

I’ll make sure he’s not alone. 

I guard my baby brother’s grave

I watch it every night

He may be six feet lower

But I’m always by his side

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 10, 2015 in Dark, Poems

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
